2021 Awards Luncheon Creating Leaders for a Lifetime

It is with great pride that A Better Chance presented the 2021 Annual Awards Luncheon virtually on Friday, June 25th!

This marked the 33rd anniversary and this year's theme was "Creating Leaders for a Lifetime".  We celebrated A Better Chance's 17,000 Alumni, talented and dedicated young men and women of diverse backgrounds we guided on their journeys to the highest level of academic and professional success, and payed special tribute to our outstanding 2021 Scholar seniors.

Our 2021 Luncheon honorees were Jonathan Pruzan, Chief Operating Officer of Morgan Stanley, who received the Chairman's Award, and James Sprayregen, Partner of Kirkland & Ellis LLP, who received the DreamBuilder Award!

Watch The 2021 A Better Chance Virtual Luncheon Today!

Chairman's Award Honoree


Jonathan Pruzan Morgan Stanley

DreamBuilder Award Honoree

Sprayregen James Hm Pc 1

James Sprayregen Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Senior Scholar Award Recipients

Nahla Owens The Judith Berry Griffin Award


Phillips Exeter Academy Hometown: Houston, Texas

The Judith Berry Griffin Award, named for Judith Berry Griffin, President of A Better Chance from 1982–2003, carries with it a monetary award of $5,000 and is awarded to a senior who has shown exceptional and steadfast determination to achieve. The recipient demonstrates success through perseverance toward personal objectives, in spite of obstacles that might have impeded his or her progress.

Anesi Ojior The Nancy J. Lucas Memorial Award


Choate Rosemary Hall Hometown: Duluth, GA

The Nancy J. Lucas Memorial Award was established in loving memory of our Senior Program Coordinator who served the New York Metro Area from 1985 to 2002. Ms. Lucas’s family, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority sisters, A Better Chance colleagues, and countless Alumni who benefited from her services have endowed this award. The award, and the $3,500 that accompanies it, is given to a Scholar who demonstrates leadership in promoting equity and justice at his or her school or offers special encouragement to peers.

Academic Achievement Award

Gabriela Ayala

Gabriela Ayala

The Archer School for Girls Hometown: Pasadena, CA

Brooke Bergeron

Brooke Bergeron

Whitefield Academy Hometown: Smyrna, GA

Siobhan Davenport

Siobhan Davenport

Wesleyan School Hometown: Alpharetta, GA

Tremaine Dawson

Tremaine Dawson

Westminster School Hometown: New York, NY

Mikhaila Doyle


Atlanta Girls' School Hometown: Ellenwood, GA

Angelique Rivanis

Angelique Rivanis

Sequoyah School Hometown: Los Angeles, CA

Kynnedy Smith


Hawken School Hometown: Shaker Heights, OH

Creating Leaders for a Lifetime Virtual Luncheon Committee

A Better Chance thanks the following individuals who devoted their time, and talent to ensuring this year's event is as exceptional as possible!

Luncheon Co-Chair

  • Darrell Ford
  • Ellen and Rob Fullerton
  • Gerald Keefe
  • Theo Killion*
  • Clarence Otis
  • Kurt Van Wagenen

Luncheon Vice-Chair

  • Michelle Gittens*
  • Eric A. Logan*
  • Erv and Louise Shames

Thank You To Our Sponsors

A Better Chance’s work is not possible without the generous support of our donors and partners. We thank the following individuals, Alumni* and institutional and corporate partners who made significant contributions to Creating Leaders for a Lifetime.

Presenting Sponsor

  • Morgan Stanley
  • John P. and Barbara Costas

Valedictorian Sponsor

  • Laurie and Peter Allan Atkins
  • Deloitte
  • Darrell L. and Melenese Ford
  • FTI Consulting
  • Ellen and Rob Fullerton
  • Gerald Keefe
  • Theo and Dana Killion*
  • Kirkland & Ellis LLP
  • Clarence and Jacqueline Otis
  • John Rogers
  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher &
  • Flom LLP
  • Stanley Black & Decker
  • State Street Corporation
  • Teneo
  • UPS
  • Kurt and Roxanna Van Wagenen

Salutatorian Sponsor

  • Lloyd Abramowitz
  • Curtis H. Barnette
  • Vivian O. Berger, Esq.
  • Matt Berke
  • Alan Carr
  • Stacey and Eric Cochran
  • Bertha I. Coombs*
  • Pamela Corrie
  • Phil Davies
  • John Durburg
  • Blair and Cheryl Effron
  • Keith Evans
  • Ekene Ezulike
  • Finsbury Glover Hering
  • Eric and Lori Friedman
  • Timur Galen
  • Edward and Alice Grayson
  • Gates H. Hawn
  • Gennell A. Jefferson
  • The Brian and Joelle Kelly Family Foundation
  • Neil Leff
  • Scott Lindsey
  • OnyxPoint Global Management
  • A. Louis Parker*
  • Andy and Andrea Potash
  • Lawrence J. Richardson*
  • Michael P. Rogan
  • Schwartz Family Foundation
  • Robert Schriesheim
  • Doug and Jenny Schwartz
  • Matthew Serkes
  • Harvey Tepner
  • Elard Timana
  • Glen and Lynn Tobias
  • Thomas Walper
  • Earle and Elizabeth Yaffa

Summa Cum Laude Sponsor

  • SVPGlobal

Cum Laude Sponsor

  • Anonymous
  • Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
  • GoldenTree Asset Management
  • Innisfree M&A Incorporated
  • Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
  • Sheila M. Marmon*

Dean's List Sponsor

  • Ernest D. Adams, Jr*
  • Amazon
  • Bank Street Group
  • Comstar Supply
  • Brian and Norma Corio
  • Davidson Kempner Capital Management LP
  • John Durburg
  • Michelle Gittens*
  • Jefferies LLC
  • Mike Jonas
  • Jones Lang LaSalle
  • The Karsh Family Foundation
  • KCC
  • Tracey Koziol and Jean-Claude
  • Oligario
  • Lazard
  • LightRiver Technologies
  • Tim and Deborah McChristian*
  • MoloLamken LLP
  • Robert and Kate Niehaus
  • Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
  • Perella Weinberg Partners
  • Rothschild & Co.
  • Erv and Louise Shames
  • Sitrick And Company
  • David R. Smith*
  • Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Honor Roll Sponsor

  • Russell Belinskey
  • Matthew and Harold Bordwin
  • Mandell Crawley
  • Current Capital Partners
  • Doane Academy
  • Document Solutions
  • John Dubel
  • Neal Goldman
  • Kimberly Henderson
  • Insperity
  • Kenton J. and Kuniko King
  • Chris Love
  • McDonald Hopkins LLC
  • Derek Melvin
  • Nicole Melwood*
  • Nick Myerberg
  • Robert Pincus
  • Mark A. Prince, Jr.*